Entering Commerce Level 2 – What You Need To Know

| April 17, 2024
Submitted by Ericka Wagner for McMaster University

At the end of level 1, you must have a Grade Point Average (GPA) of at least 5.0 (63%), on a minimum of 24 units of coursework for Business 1, and these must include all required courses of the Business 1 program.

If you have failed a course, you may still be eligible to advance in the program if:

  • You have failed no more than one required course.
  • You have failed no more than 6 units overall.
  • You have a GPA of 5.0 or better, with your failed courses included in the average.

You have the opportunity to repeat failed courses in order to qualify for Level 2. Please refer to the McMaster Repeat Policy. If you successfully complete a previously failed course, the most recent grade will be included in your GPA and the course will no longer be considered “failed” in your review to advance in the program.

You can find the requirements for moving through the levels of the Commerce program on the Registration page of the Undergraduate Commerce website.

Questions? Email buscom@mcmaster.ca.

be collegial | embrace change | explore new possibilities | ug1 | ug2 | ug3 | ug4
Bulletin Posts | UG Level 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Comment Policy

We generally welcome discussion on our blog posts. However, we reserve the right to edit or delete comments in certain situations:

  • Comments which include unrelated or suspicious links or messages (spam).
  • Comments which are off topic.
  • Comments which attack or threaten individuals or a group of people.
  • Comments which include profanity or messages that would generally be considered offensive or inappropriate by the McMaster community.

This site is moderated by the DeGroote Marketing and Communications team. If you have any questions please email Katie Almas.